The evolution of NYC through film

I’m currently, haphazardly, working a on a personal project that shows the evolution of New York City in film. It will ideally encompass the changes in NYC from a cultural, architectural, and the ever changing perception of the city throughout the years. In the rough draft section of my mind, I know I wish to explore and tackle the fact that NYC is bigger than Manhattan, immigration (specifically the American Dream), heaven/hell aspects of living within the city, and the most well known aspect of New York: the people. The obvious cast of directors will be Spike Lee, Martin Scorsese, Woody Allen, Abel Ferrara, Whit Stillman, several other native New Yorkers, other Americans who filmed in NYC (tourists), and foreigners as well.

A quick shorthand list that I have at the moment, that isn’t from any of the above directors: King Kong (all three versions),  Our Song, Memories of Overdevelopment, Maria Full of Grace, Dave Chappelle’s Block Party, Taking of Pelham 1, 2, 3 (original and remake), Cloverfield, TMNT, World Trade Center, Igby Goes Down, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, The Naked City, The Jazz Singer, New Jack City, Once Upon a Time in America, Hester Street, etc.

This is an extremely daunting task I lay ahead of myself, by nevertheless I am completely exciting about undertaking it and it gives me a great excuse to go to the library to borrow books and movies in addition to me finally getting back to writing more.

About panamaenrique

Afro-Latino film lover in NYC. I love blues, jazz, soul, funk, and everything else under the sun. Any questions, comments, or concerns about anything I say, feel free to hit me up. My contact info is there and I'll be sure to give you a lengthy response about what I said and why I said it.
This entry was posted in Books, Comparisons, Evolution of NYC, Life meets the movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

