I Need An Editor

I’ve been procrastinating on writing for a good while now. It’s not been for a lack of ideas; I just have a hard time putting pen to pad. Or fingers to ASDFJKL; in this scenario. I know I said I’d talk about a dozen films at this point, but damn sometimes I’m at a loss about what I want to talk about them. I have two really personally entries (Betty Blue and Brothers) that I’m probably not going to put up for a good minute. I’ve been on and off writing about Jin-Roh: The Wolf Brigade since I essentially started this blog. I think I seriously need an editor or a writing partner or someone to help keep my motivated as well as put their foot on my neck so I’ll write more and give a better quality that I know that I’m capable of.

The latest pipe dream that I’ve seriously been considering is developing a website which essentially expands on what I was partially my mission statement for this blog: to shed light on films that normally don’t get any mention despite their prestige like Third Cinema, Black cinema, African cinema, etc. I’ve been bouncing ideas around in my head about what to incorporate on this fictional website should I ever get the gumption and motivation to work on it on a daily basis. I’ll obviously need other writers. My ethos for this magical made up site would be to only cover films and directors that do not normally get coverage regardless of the fact that my hypothetical fellow writers and I may watch films from the usual suspects. I’d like to have retrospects about past directors careers like Sara Gomez or Tomás Gutiérrez Alea. Going back and doing reviews for specific films would be fun too. I don’t see interviews or anything like that until years down the road. We’d obviously have to do book reviews as well. A book is one of my ultimate goals as a writer.

As I constantly say, I will never-the-less strive to write more and with greater enthusiasm, clarity and length. Unless I think of something really good I’ll just stick to clearing out my drafts. And after reading over this again, my vocabulary, grammar, and spelling has fallen exponentially. I need to get back to reading actually challenging and interesting material on a regular basis again.

About panamaenrique

Afro-Latino film lover in NYC. I love blues, jazz, soul, funk, and everything else under the sun. Any questions, comments, or concerns about anything I say, feel free to hit me up. My contact info is there and I'll be sure to give you a lengthy response about what I said and why I said it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Need An Editor

  1. *Yoles* says:

    get to it sucka

Leave a Reply

