Apollo 18 and Empathy (really short post)

My sister dragged me to see Apollo 18 today because nothing of interest came out this weekend. I was pretty ambivalent towards it considering I’m scarcely a fan of horror films as is and I’m even less of a fan of ‘found footage’ horror films in particular. So I likely wasn’t going to be moved by the film in the slightest regardless of whether the quality was exponentially higher or lower. It doesn’t have the benefit of Blair Witch Project in that it’s incredibly formulaic (based off of the aforementioned formula of BWP) and the ‘weird stuff REALLY does happen in real life’ doesn’t carry over because the setting is so far detached from any human beings day-to-day life. It also doesn’t help that no one is interested in the moon, the Cold War, or anything involving NASA right now either. On the positive side, it did manage to capture the look of the era it attempted to emulate.

I ran over to RottenTomatoes to read critic and fan reactions and they were far more negative towards the film than myself. One thing that stuck out to me was the claim that was brought up was that there wasn’t enough information given on the characters for us to care. This has always struck me as odd. Do you need biographical information on ever human being that you set your eyes beyond before you can extend the gift of empathy upon them? There are many situations in life that individuals don’t have the live experience to do a parallel emotional leap to, but can you not be happy for another’s happiness? Can you not feel their pain? Shouldn’t the only concern be whether or not the character is recognizable as a human?

About panamaenrique

Afro-Latino film lover in NYC. I love blues, jazz, soul, funk, and everything else under the sun. Any questions, comments, or concerns about anything I say, feel free to hit me up. My contact info is there and I'll be sure to give you a lengthy response about what I said and why I said it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apollo 18 and Empathy (really short post)

  1. Wu Young says:

    “Do you need biographical information on ever human being that you set your eyes beyond before you can extend the gift of empathy upon them?”

    It’s helpful to have but not needed. My favorite movie is “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly” and we never find out anything about The Man With No Name but yet I’m fascinated by him as a protagonist.

    “There are many situations in life that individuals don’t have the live experience to do a parallel emotional leap to, but can you not be happy for another’s happiness?”

    Take Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) from the Alien franchise for example. We knew nothing about her background but the relief that came with her defeat of the Alien was there.

    “Can you not feel their pain? Shouldn’t the only concern be whether or not the character is recognizable as a human?”

    I look for the humanity in most fictional characters. Oddly enough, the fictional character that exemplifies this the best for me is Wolverine who has been portrayed well by Jackman, has appeared in poorly thought out movies. With most of his background withheld for 40 years Wolverine’s humanity, motivations, and thought process have been made clear other than being a pint-sized murder machine. Film hasn’t conveyed that however.

Leave a Reply

