I am back.

It’s been a really long time. I’ve missed out on so many updates that have happened to WordPress over the months. There will be film talk today, but I won’t discuss any film in particular. For those that may not know BFI’s Sight & Sound just released it’s 100 Greatest Films of All Time list a little while back. I’ll discuss my problems with that list over the next few days. Today, the individual lists have been released. Yay. Applause and all that jazz. In addition to going through my problems, I’ll always be giving praise to certain people as well as just pointing out random things about the list that I have looked over. Today is going to be one of those “look over” days. If I’m mentioning it, it is because I think these are great films and directors. It’s all positive and touchy feely today. I’m mostly going to concentrate on Latin America today. Over the next couple of days I’ll do some for the continent of Africa as well as for Japan because Japanese cinema was my introduction to serious films. If the director or film is mentioned below, please take it as a recommendation (after you personally read the synopsis of the film of course because of lot of these will be acquired tastes). Here’s the link!

  • Black God, White Devil is the most popular Brazilian film with it appearing on 6 lists.
  • Glauber Rocha is the most popular Brazilian director with 4 of his films having been voted on at least once.
  • Nelson Pereira dos Santos is the only other Brazilian director to appear more than once on the list (How Tasty Was My Little Frenchmen and Barren Lives)
  • Tomás Gutiérrez Alea is the most popular Cuban director with appearing on the most lists with Memories of Underdevelopment (12 lists) and The Last Supper (1 list).
  • Patricia Guzman’s Battle of Chile was featured on 3 lists and would have most likely been on more had they decided not to count it as 2 separate films
  • Pan’s Labyrinth was one of the most recent films (2006) to appear on any of the lists (only on 2).
  • Ignoring Luis Bunuel, the most popular film directed by a Mexican was Carlos Reygadas’ Silent Light which appeared on 5 lists.
  • The only film from Peru that received any representation was Werner Herzog’s Fitzcarraldo which is about a European conqueror.
About panamaenrique

Afro-Latino film lover in NYC. I love blues, jazz, soul, funk, and everything else under the sun. Any questions, comments, or concerns about anything I say, feel free to hit me up. My contact info is there and I'll be sure to give you a lengthy response about what I said and why I said it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

